Idaho Nurse Aide Registry
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
Idaho Nurse Aide Registry
3232 Elder Street, P.O. Box 83720, Boise, Idaho 83720
Phone: (800) 748-2480
Nurse aides in the state of Idaho are regulated by the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare. Prometric has been assigned to administer the CNA examination.
How to become a NEW CNA in Idaho
Individuals who wish to work as certified nurse aides in Idaho must be added to the Idaho Nurse Aide Registry. To this purpose, they must take the following route:
- Complete a state-approved training program for nurse aides
- Take and pass the manual skills evaluation in maximum 6 months after completing the program
- Take and pass the written evaluation exam within 12 months of completing the program
Applicants have 3 attempts at both exams. If they fail to pass either exam after three attempts, they must complete training with an approved provider before becoming eligible for further examination.
How to become a NEW CNA in Idaho if You Trained in Another State
Students that have completed a nurse aide training program, but did not complete testing in another state, may be eligible for testing in Idaho if:
- They have proof of completion of a training program in another state, which shows that the training completed meets the criteria required by the state of Idaho;
- They take and pass the competency exams in the testing timeframes of the state of Idaho, i.e. within 6 months of completion for the skills test and within 12 months of completion for the written test.
- Candidate Information Bulletin
- Form to Request Change of Name or Address
- Out-of-state Credential Verification
- Verify license online
Certification Renewal for Arizona Nurse Aides
Nurse aides certified in the state of Idaho must renew their certification every 24 months. The minimum requirement is that the applicant has performed 8 hours of PAID nursing-related duties within the last certification period.
Reinstatement of a Lapsed Nurse Aide Certificate
Certified nurse aides who failed to perform a minimum of 8 hours of paid nursing-related duties within the last 24 months must re-test to reactivate their certificate. They must pass both the skills and written examinations.
Nurse assistants certified in another state may transfer their certification to Idaho without re-taking a training program or re-testing. Also, nurses or physicians from another state or country may also be added to the registry without retraining or retesting. Their application for certification in Idaho may be denied is there is any negative action on their license.